Award Winners Gallery

Chandler Winners

Our Award Winners have all made significant contributions towards

Science Fiction in Australia

Award Winners

Read Tributes Here

Perry Middlemiss

Gillian Polack

Alan Stewart

Edwina Harvey

Bill Wright

James 'Jocko' Allen

Donna Maree Hanson

Danny  'Danger' Oz

Russell Farr

Richard Harland

Paul Collins

Damien Broderick

Rosaleen Love

Bruce Gillespie


Lee Harding

Lucy Sussex

John Foyster

John Bangsund

Graham Stone

Susan Batho


Grant Stone


Wynne Whiteford

George Turner

Merv Binns

Van Ikin



The announcement of Van Ikin as winner of the inaugural Chandler Award at Syncon ’92, the 31st Natcon was greeted with resounding applause. It was a welcome and very popular choice.


Susan Chandler, Bert’s widow, was delighted with it.


' I’ve known Van as a close friend and colleague since our undergraduate days at Sydney University, when he was editing and single-handedly publishing the SUSFA fanzine Enigma. He is presently a lecturer in English literature at the University of Western Australia, a husband and father and – too rarely these days for those of us who know his stories – a writer whose fiction has appeared in everything from Adam to Omega. Since 1977, he has published and edited Science Fiction: A Review of Speculative Literature, now at its 32nd issue, plus two impressive anthologies, Australian Science Fiction (UQP, 1982) and Glass Reptile Breakout and Other Australian Speculative Stories (CSAL, 1991). As well as being resident genre reviewer for the Sydney Morning Herald since 1983, he makes regular appearances at genre-related conventions and seminars, such as the 1991 Legends Seminar in Sydney and the Imaginings Conference in Brisbane for which he was Keynote Speaker... He has a sense of humour to be reckoned with, a charm and goodwill second to none.'     -Terry Dowling