A. Bertram Chandler Award

Australia's Premier Awards for Significant Achievement in Science Fiction

National Award for Significant Achievement in Science Fiction.


Bert Chandler with RC & SB  - Karen Auhl.jpeg

Bert Chandler with Sue Batho and Ron Clarke - Photo by Karen Auhl.

The Chandler, as it is fondly known, was created

in 1991 in recognition of the contribution  that

science fiction writer A. Bertram Chandler

made to Australian science fiction and to

Australian SF fandom in general.

Nominations Open July 1st 2022

The Australian Science Fiction Foundation

awards the Chandler Award on the basis of 

Significant Achievement in Australian Science Fiction

The Chandler Award is a discretionary award

Nominations close December 1st 2022


The Chandler Award. Recognition of significant achievement over a lifetime.


Australian Significant Achievement in Science Fiction.

Award Administrator: James 'Jocko' Allen.

To nominate someone whom you believe has made a significant contribution to Science Fiction and/or fandom, you must fill in and submit the nomination form to the ASFF. You must note in detail

the nominee’s achievements and why you consider them to be worthy of the Award as per the

requirements contained within the nomination form.


Nominations for this year officially opened on 1st July 2022.


Nominees should demonstrably be members of a Science Fiction community, whether in writing/publishing/media, and/or from the many fandoms that make up the scene.


Team or conjoint nominations will be considered,

but each nominee must be nominated in detail on a separate nomination form. ​ People are free to

nominate themselves as well as others, but all nominees must satisfactorily meet the criteria.


Nominees must be recognised as having made a significant contribution to the science fiction communities within which they have been involved. We especially welcome nominations from those who represent innovative, creative, and diverse fields of community involvement.

Nomination forms must be filled out in detail, although we recognise that the questions are a general guide only. You may send us additional information in an email inquiryasff@outlook.com


Nominations will be duly considered and winners decided by jury  (ASFF Committee).


All nominations must remain confidential until the committee has been able to process and shortlist successful candidates. Nominations close on October 1st 2022. Shortlisting will take place in December 2022.

Contact inquiryasff@outlook.com